HobbyKing 2.4Ghz

Please post all questions and answers in here. This way people can easily see if someone else has the same problem.

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

razerdave
Posts: 1545
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:40 pm
Location: Carterton, Oxfordshire
Contact:

Post by razerdave »

I had a read of the reviews, and the general consensus is they work with all DSM2 TX's, but it doesn't work with ground radios such as DX3r, and there has been reports of it not fuctioning with the DX6, but it does work with the DX6i.

There are a few complaints on the RX not coming with the heatshrink attached, but I beleive thats to give those who want the less weigh the choice if they want it or not, and no labelling on the channels, however people who have bought them have posted channel layouts for our benifit

User avatar
terminaldamage
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

Post by terminaldamage »

here has been reports of it not fuctioning with the DX6
Probably because the DX6 is just a DSM radio (if I'm not mistaken) whereas the DX6i is DSM2
Jamie McHarg
RogueTwo Robots
www.rogue-two-robots.vze.com

With great power, comes great reliability.

User avatar
Jonny
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Reigate
Contact:

Post by Jonny »

might get a dx6i soon and i was wondering if this would work, has anyone else tied one of these?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Orange-Rx-Spektru ... 1e5e3f5927
Image

leo-rcc
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:44 am
Location: Hoogvliet, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by leo-rcc »

terminaldamage wrote:
here has been reports of it not fuctioning with the DX6
Probably because the DX6 is just a DSM radio (if I'm not mistaken) whereas the DX6i is DSM2
That is correct.

That is also why a lot of ground radios don't work either, pretty much every Spektrum ground radio is DSM.

The DX3r is DSM2 though so it surprises me that the RX doesn't work with the r version.
Best regards,

Leo van Miert.
Dutchrobotgames
Team RCC website

User avatar
peterwaller
Posts: 3193
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Aylesbury Bucks
Contact:

Post by peterwaller »

Just got the receivers I posted about above from HobbyKing and they look really good and in only 13 days. see link :
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/stor ... duct=11972
I have just tried them out and as expected they bind with the DX6i and DX5e that are DSM2 but not with the DX6 which is only DSM.
The board including connector is 37 x 14.5 x 7.5 mm and weighs just 2.5 gms. It comes with a heat shrink tube which you can fit and that increases the weight to 2.9gms.
In the picture below you can see the top and bottom views of the new receiver together with an AR6100 and AR6300 for size comparison.
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n66/ ... MG1122.jpg

User avatar
peterwaller
Posts: 3193
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Aylesbury Bucks
Contact:

Post by peterwaller »

Just finished repairing Variant by fitting the new cheap DSM2 receiver (shown above in this thread but slightly modified) that are much lower profile I have been able reduce the wheel diameter by a 10 mm.
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n66/ ... MG1123.jpg
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n66/ ... MG1124.jpg

User avatar
peterwaller
Posts: 3193
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Aylesbury Bucks
Contact:

Post by peterwaller »

I was looking on the HobbyKing site at a new cheap DSM2 receiver.
Said to be the the same function as the AR6100 but apparently the pinouts are up the other way so it won't work with my B61 controller. But it does appear to be a dual receiver and it comes out at ?4.29 when I log on to their site and ?7.33 if I don't log on.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/stor ... duct=12586
I have noticed that they always say log on for the best price but this is the first time I have found a difference. Although bigger and heavier than the 4 chan orange board they are actually in stock. I have ordered a few to test and will let you know how I get on.

razerdave
Posts: 1545
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:40 pm
Location: Carterton, Oxfordshire
Contact:

Post by razerdave »

I could do with one of those, look forward to hearing the outcome. Once Ian Watts has found out how to put my weapon triggers on the DX5 then I'll convert all the ants to spektrum

User avatar
Jonny
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Reigate
Contact:

Post by Jonny »

i'm going to buy some of these when i have the cash

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... duct=11965

:)
Image

User avatar
peterwaller
Posts: 3193
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Aylesbury Bucks
Contact:

Post by peterwaller »

I see you can get the DX5e transmitters on there own for ?40 now.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SPEKTRUM-DX5e-5-c ... 2a0bd7915c

Post Reply