Motors? (US antweight)

All things antweight

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

Post Reply
Critters
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:51 pm

Motors? (US antweight)

Post by Critters »

Ok, Im building a US antweight..... I need to know wht motor I should get...
Mainly RPM
A wheel with a D of 2.5inch and spinning at 70rpm will travel
8.72331 meters per min. That doesn't seem very fast. If my math is right.

The motor Im thinking is this one http://www.precisionmicrodrives.com/pro ... ucts_id=71
It might be a bit small for US antweight... but at 197 rpm with a 2.5inch d wheel.... it's going to go 1.472994 km/h. I have no clue if that's fast for an antweight.... Ideas?

BTW where do you guys get your speed controls?

User avatar
Simon Windisch
Posts: 1806
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading
Contact:

Post by Simon Windisch »

If this helps then I find that for a wheel of 30mm diameter an RPM of 300-500 is good (for a 150g antweight)

Simon

And try here for speed controllers

User avatar
peterwaller
Posts: 3193
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Aylesbury Bucks
Contact:

Post by peterwaller »

Those are the motors we use in UK Antweights but would not have the power for US ones. I have used them in one minisumo which have a 500gm limit and they are not really upto it. Also we have a much smaller arena with large drop off area's so we can't use speed as much as the US ants can. I would suggest something like the copal 60:1 for a US ant
http://www.robotcombat.com/marketplace_antweights.html
Probably a better place to seek advice on US ants would be
http://forums.delphiforums.com/antweights/messages

Critters
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:51 pm

Post by Critters »

Well, I know what speed control, I think I know what battery. I was thinking about the copal 50:1 for more speed..... it's only 30 more RPM though.... Im getting the 60:1. Ill get 2 oz more torque... meh

Im going to be using 4 of those
The only thing is, I don't think the motors will fit.... Im going to use this chassis. Just to make things easyer.
http://inertialabs.com/AntChassisKit.htm
the non-tank treaded one.

and the tires I want to use may be too big. The tires that come with it don't have too good of traction

or what I could do is use the tank chassis and just use wheels.....

User avatar
Simon Windisch
Posts: 1806
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading
Contact:

Post by Simon Windisch »

Wheels inside the armour is an advantage if you're going up against spinners.

Simon

User avatar
peterwaller
Posts: 3193
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Aylesbury Bucks
Contact:

Post by peterwaller »

That chassis is designed for the motors you were originally going to use so they must be considered powerful enough for the US ants especially with 4 of them. The Copal motors definatly won't fit that chassis as they are 16mm diam and the chassis is designed to fit the smaller motors across the flats which is only 10mm. The copals are also much longer.

Remote-Controlled Dave
Posts: 3716
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:30 pm
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Post by Remote-Controlled Dave »

I used that tank chassis kit. Too big and heavy for UK ants, but v. good for US ones. Tracks are so much fun, I love them.
Die Gracefully Robotics
Winner - AWS 39

Critters
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:51 pm

Post by Critters »

well, ok yea. I can just use the stock motors you can get this the chassis.
The wheels though, the ones that are ment for it have little grip. Im having toubles trying to find wheels that will bit that have more traction.

Post Reply