odds and ends

Something to tickle your fancy.

Moderators: petec, administrator, BeligerAnt

User avatar
terminaldamage
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

Postby terminaldamage » Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:45 am

I haven't looked at every single speed controller on GiantCod but from what I can see browsing through them, they're all designed for brushless motors. You'd need one designed for DC brushed motors to be able to control drill motors.
Jamie McHarg
RogueTwo Robots
www.rogue-two-robots.vze.com

With great power, comes great reliability.

User avatar
bitternboy
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Location: Sheffield

Postby bitternboy » Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:02 pm

http://www.mtroniks.net/

Good website for brushed controllers.
Jonathan
Before you criticize another person, first walk a mile in their shoes. Then, when you critisize them, you'll be a mile away and have their shoes.

haz
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Underwater Lair
Contact:

Postby haz » Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:22 pm

cool what exact ones did u use simon? :-?

User avatar
Simon Windisch
Posts: 2194
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading
Contact:

Postby Simon Windisch » Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:20 pm

Leo sold them to me, he might have details???

Simon

User avatar
terminaldamage
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

Postby terminaldamage » Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:14 am

If it's the same type of blue boat controllers that were quite popular a few years ago, then you're probably looking for something like this:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2x-Marine-50A-Spe ... 2308329682

There are no specs on this particular eBay item but if you search for '50a esc' you'll find a few of them up for sale. Generally they are rated at 50A forward, 20A reverse and have an operating range of 6-12V, although some people have managed to run them at 14.4V.
Jamie McHarg

RogueTwo Robots

www.rogue-two-robots.vze.com



With great power, comes great reliability.

haz
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Underwater Lair
Contact:

Postby haz » Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:19 pm

will this be definatly 100% useablule with drill motors (just making sure as im on a tight budget) but cheers anyway :D

User avatar
terminaldamage
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

Postby terminaldamage » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:46 am

If they are the same ones I used (and the look to be) then yes they will run drill motors. For example:

Image

You will be limited to 12V max operating voltage (maybe 14.4V but I never used them at that voltage so can't guarantee anything) so if you later fit a weapon that requires, say, 18V to run, you will then have to look at some way of getting 12V out of your 18V battery supply.

You may be better off spending a little more and getting a pair of Electronize controllers that go up to 24V; that gives you more flexibility further down the line and will also provide smoother control than the blue speed controllers. Depends on your budget though.
Jamie McHarg

RogueTwo Robots

www.rogue-two-robots.vze.com



With great power, comes great reliability.

haz
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Underwater Lair
Contact:

Postby haz » Thu Jul 15, 2010 3:23 pm

love you so much right now cheers a bunch :D


here is my feather...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pb9ELUV1cOM

haz
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Underwater Lair
Contact:

Postby haz » Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:57 pm

what is the best way to make mounts for my drill motors... can anyone help :-?

User avatar
Team Orr
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: London/Bath
Contact:

Postby Team Orr » Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:09 pm

buy some off robochallenge
"if it wasn't for Edison we'd be watching TV by candlelight"
Jack Orr
Team Orr Robotics

User avatar
bitternboy
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Location: Sheffield

Postby bitternboy » Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:50 pm

If you want a homemade solution you could get some pieces of PVC, soak them in hot water, mould them around the motors and leave some flat areas for putting some bolts through.
Jonathan
Before you criticize another person, first walk a mile in their shoes. Then, when you critisize them, you'll be a mile away and have their shoes.

haz
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Underwater Lair
Contact:

Postby haz » Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:11 pm

do i need a removable link, and if i do where do i put it? :cry:

User avatar
bitternboy
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Location: Sheffield

Postby bitternboy » Sun Jul 25, 2010 8:40 pm

Personally I wouldn't worry about that until you've built a fair amount of the robot and then see if you can fit it in somewhere. I'm not quite sure what to make mine out of...
Jonathan
Before you criticize another person, first walk a mile in their shoes. Then, when you critisize them, you'll be a mile away and have their shoes.

User avatar
Team Orr
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: London/Bath
Contact:

Postby Team Orr » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:47 pm

you do need a removable link, most people use either deans or anderson connectors...but i know jamie m used a house plug once :P
"if it wasn't for Edison we'd be watching TV by candlelight"
Jack Orr
Team Orr Robotics

User avatar
terminaldamage
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

Postby terminaldamage » Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:54 am

:lol:
That was fun

Image

Man, I miss that robot sometimes
Jamie McHarg

RogueTwo Robots

www.rogue-two-robots.vze.com



With great power, comes great reliability.


Return to “Featherweights”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest