PCB Transfer methods

Wanna talk about something other than robots? Really?? Can't understand it myself, but if you really want to, do it here....normal rules apply though!!

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

thebeardedone

PCB Transfer methods

Post by thebeardedone »

What methods do you use for PCB transfer?

I have never done DIY PCBs before (although I have thought about it a lot but never got around to buying the materials). Well, now I have everything I need to start so I am looking for some advice on the transfer methods I should try.

I have purchase a sharpie pen and I am going to try that first. I have also heard of some people using a blender pen by printing the circuit onto coated paper and rubbing the blender pen over the back of it on the CC Board. Then the final method is Toner Transfer.

Unfortunately, I don't have a laser printer but I believe that I will be able to pick one up easily enough if this is going to be the best method.

Any advice to be given?

Regards,
Sam
BeligerAnt

Post by BeligerAnt »

(Sorry for the late reply, I must have missed this post at the time)
I have used just about everything available on the amateur and professional markets :o

For DIY boards:

The rub-down transfers and tape that Maplins (used to?) do work but are tedious and error-prone. Only for small boards.

Drawing the tracks with a Sharpie (or similar marker pen) is even more difficult than the tape & transfers. Most important thing is to get a really good thick layer of ink down, otherwise the tracks start to etch away and you end up with a load of open-circuits to fix on the board before you even start building. Only recommended for really simple quick & dirty boards. Probably better off using "ugly", "dead bug" or "Manhatten" construction.