juddering antweight

Please post all questions and answers in here. This way people can easily see if someone else has the same problem.

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

alasdair

juddering antweight

Post by alasdair »

I am a newbie and just finishing my first ant, disobediANT :D . I have a major problem. When I turn it and the transmitter on, if I do not point the fully extended arial at the ant, it goes mad and judders about so I cannot control it very well. I have been advised to put a layer of foil covered with sticky tape between the receiver and the battery but it does not help at all :( . Anyone got any ideas? I would really appreciate it.

malivoirec

Post by malivoirec »

Hi alasdair and welcome to the world of antweights.

To understand a solution to this problem we will probably need answers to the following questions:

What materials are you using as a shell?
What radio gear are you using?
How far does the arial sticking out of the body?

It may be just that the arial needs to stick out a little more, but it is better to be safe than sorry. just in case you face a spinner and you suddenly loose control of your ant.
Fortune cookie says: Pain is meerly a feeling;
unless its PERMANANT FOREVER.

Fortune cookie no.2 says: Take heed of
Last cookie
Andrew_Hibberd

Post by Andrew_Hibberd »

There are a few things you can do, move the reciever (RX) as far away from the motors/servos as you can. Try to have the extend the ariel on the rx as much as you can as it will improve reception.

Other things that could be causing a problem is battery power, make sure that the transmitter (TX) and robot battery are fully charged. Also check the frequencies of the tx and rx match.
TEAM GEEK!
alasdair

Post by alasdair »

The base and sides are 0.5 mm thick carbon fibre and the top and back are 1mm thick polythene plastic.
Hitec laser 4 TX and a HFS05MS RX
I am trying to keep the arial inside the body to avoid damage, what do you recommend?