Servo problems.

All things antweight

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

Paulmchurd

Servo problems.

Post by Paulmchurd »

Hello,

I am new to building robots. I've done a lot of back ground reading but seem to have got a little stuck.

I've started with a simple set up card board chassis glue gunned together. Then Using two continuous servos connected into a receiver and battery.

I bought a cheap 4 channel transmitter.

My issue I'm having is after driving the robot a around for 30 seconds or so. One of the servos will start moving on its own. I can trim it back to being still then after 30 seconds it will start to move on its own again. Eventually the trimming won't even stop it and the robot spins in circles .

This is a new problem. It didn't do this for the first week of use. I rebuilt the robot to try incorporate a flipper. 3rd servo added.

How can I fix this?

Is this a common problem with continuous servos?

Is it my cheap transmitter? Turnigy i4x

Thanks for any help
Shakey

Re: Servo problems.

Post by Shakey »

This is an inherent problem in nearly all ESC's but servos are very susceptible for it. Essentially the way the servo reads the signal depends on the temperature. As it changes temperature (heating up over use for example) it may see 'Stop' as something else other than when it was turned on. There's no real way to correct for this as it happens without just constantly trimming the robot or making sure the ESC/Servo stays at the same temperature as much as you can.

Expanded explanation: